The School Board is appointed by the Anglican Schools Commission and the Bishop of the Diocese to control and govern the school. The School Board is responsible to the Anglican Schools Commission for the direction and governance of the school. They operate within the vision and purposes of the school, developing policy to monitor the annual operational plan and the strategic plan. The Board and the School operate under The Anglican School Googong Ordinance and The Anglican School Googong Incorporation Ordinance.

In consultation with the Principal, the Board sets long term objectives for the school, financial projections and the School’s annual budget.

In addition to its Executive committee, the Board has three working committees: Finance and Audit; Risk; and Property and Development. The Principal is not a member of the Board, but is entitled and expected to attend, and report to, all Board meetings. The Principal also attends all committee meetings.

Andrew Herring (Board Chair)

Andrew is the principal of Herring & Associates – Lawyers, a general practice law firm based in Queanbeyan and with offices throughout NSW and the ACT. He graduated from the Australian National University in 2000 with a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Economics, subsequently completing a Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice prior to commencing work in private practice in 2001.

In 2008 Andrew was recognised as a leader in his field, accredited as a specialist in advocacy by the NSW Law Society (one of only 19 in NSW). He is a former President of the Southern Tablelands Law Society, is the honorary solicitor to the South Eastern Women’s Domestic Violence Advocacy Service and was a board member of the Cancer Support Group for 6 years.

Andrew has a passion for Snowsports and in the warmer months enjoys camping with family and friends.

Andrew is the Assistant Deputy President of the Professional Standards Board for the diocese.

Neil James (Deputy Chair)

Neil is executive director of the Australia Defence Association, an independent, non-partisan, public-interest watchdog organisation. Prior to this he was an army officer for 31 years and he continues to serve as an active reservist (totalling 46 years).

He is a graduate of the Royal Military College, Duntroon, Command & Staff College, Fort Queenscliff, and UNSW. He holds bachelor and masters degrees in history and political science, and graduate diplomas in management and information analysis.

His teaching career has included Command & Staff College, the School of Military Intelligence, the Canadian Forces School of Intelligence and Security, and as a visiting lecturer at several Australian universities and secondary schools.

Neil has been on the Board since its inception in 2013, including membership of the Board’s executive and property & development sub-committees.

He is a parishioner at St Pauls, Burra, and a member of both the diocesan Synod and Bishop-in-Council.  Neil also serves on the Advisory Board at Marist Catholic College, Canberra, with his local RFS brigade and with Wildcare SE-NSW.

Stephen Hughes

Stephen is an experienced manager with over 25 years’ experience. Stephen currently works for a large Defence contractor where he leads teams delivering complex ICT solutions in support of military operations.  Stephen is a qualified Systems Engineer and a certified Program Director.  He has worked across many different industry sectors including Maritime, Rail, Aerospace, and Emergency Services. Stephen is currently the Chair of the Property and Development committee.
Stephen is Chair of the Property and Development Committee.

Anthony Troy

Anthony has been on the Board since the inception of the school.  He is a Management Consultant in Technology Advisory with experience that has included consulting, developing, implementing and supporting systems in a range of sectors including Health, Finance, Government, Education and Not For Profits. His recent employment history includes being the Chief Information Officer of an independent school in Canberra.  Anthony, and his family, have lived in Canberra for the last 14-years and are parishioners at Holy Covenant, Belconnen. Anthony also volunteers his time at ANU where he mentors Fourth Year Software Engineering students.

Justin Steven

Justin has served the Anglican School Googong, firstly as a member of the Finance and Audit Committee and as a member of the Board from June 2018.

Justin is the Director of Finance and ICT for Directions Health Services, a not-for-profit non-Government organisation that delivers programs and service to people impacted by alcohol, drugs and other addictions in the ACT and surrounding regions.

Justin is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand and holds a combined Economics and Commerce degree from the Australian National University and a Graduate Diploma in Financial Services from FINSIA. Justin brings diverse financial management experience to the Board gained from a career spanning professional practice, funds management and the fitness industry. Justin is currently the Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee.